Select Page

Today’s day in the life guest post comes from Emma, the owner of fabulous kidswear brand Little Hotdog Watson, which specialises in stylish and intelligently designed triple protection sun hats and sunglasses for kids. Emma lives in Norwich and is mum to her two year old daughter, H.

 

We moved to Norwich 3 days after H was born at the end of 2014 so we are still fairly new to the area. My husband is from Norwich so we’d spent a lot of time here before we moved from London and were both so excited to move to this ‘fine city’.

Generally I get up when H wakes up anytime between 6am – 7am. I’m not naturally a morning person but since having children that’s had to change!

My mornings are spent with the normal mum/family life stuff. Wrestling with a mini octopus trying to get her dressed and fed and out the door. As soon as she’s set with her grandparents it’s onto work.I launched my business 10 months ago and it’s been pretty much non stop since we won our Best New Brand award last June. I work from home and share an office with my hubbie, his business partner and my assistant. So it’s a pretty full house. The mornings are all about catching up on emails and speaking with customers. Often we treat ourselves to coffee and croissants from Red Roaster.  Occasionally I have have breakfast meetings and then depending on who I’m meeting I head to either Georgian Town House, The Forum, or Cafe 33.

My favourite place for lunch changes all the time depending on how busy we are. My favourite lunch time treat is Shiki for sushi; they do a great lunch menu and always really welcoming when we take H. I also love the Workshop it’s a funny little place with only one menu that you have to read at the counter but the food is so tasty. A lot of times I decamp to my local pub The Trafford Arms a lovely quiet pub, with home cooking. Simple and comfy. If I’m going stir crazy I often work in here as the wi-fi is ace and I can eat lunch as well. It’s one our family faves for a Sunday roast too.

In the afternoon I work on creative tasks, designing the new range, reviewing fabrics and trims and research for up coming projects. I might also pop to the shops for a bit of inspiration and to look at the trends in the shops. If I do this I try to squeeze in a snack and hit the Vegan Bakery on the market. Fridays I always finish early and H and I often go to the park or library and hang out.

Dinner is always something different. My husband is a real foodie and has an allotment so often we are trying new things. Sushi is always on the menu at least one evening as it’s my daughter’s favourite food and she loves helping to make it. When it’s not sushi then we eat lots of pastas, tagines and fresh vegetables. Occasionally, we have takeaway from Namaste Village, it’s a vegetarian Indian restaurant and very tasty.

In the evening with H it’s, play, tea, bath, story, bed and then I head back to my work as soon as she’s in bed. Building a new business means you’re never really off duty. We recently launched in China and have had an amazing reception but it means a lot of late night emailing. Once that’s all done I’ll probably have a glass of rose and watch a TV series with my husband. We’ve currently got a few things on the go…Halt and Catch Fire, Broadchurch and when I’m on my own my guilty pleasure is Project Runway.

I usually head to bed pretty late around midnight, I do a last quick check in on my social media then it’s lights out.

At the weekends, we follow a completely different schedule though, much more relaxed. We like to pick an activity whether that’s seeing family, going to the allotment or a couple of current favourites are Dinosaur Adventure Park and Tots Town.

If we’re out we might take H for an early dinner at Brick Pizza before heading home. We also love heading out to the coast and making sure we visit No.1 Cromer for the best fish and chips in Norfolk. Occasionally, hubbie and I make it out for a drink on our own and then it has to be cocktails at Platform 12.

For more information on Little Hotdog Watson, head to www.littlehotdogwatson.com.  All photos c/o Little Hotdog Watson.